Chilli Basil Roast Potatoes

Roast potatoes are one of my favorite things to eat. Full stop.

Roast potatoes are also kind of the reason why I’m such a fatty  lately. They’re such a great side-dish for any meat dinner, and I often just eat them with a salad and my dinner is sorted.

My normal go-to roast potato recipe just involves roasting the potatoes (cubes or wedges) with whole shallots, whole garlic cloves, olive oil, salt pepper and some other dried herbs like rosemary, oregano, thyme etc.

So trying to get a bit creative and shake things up a bit with respect to this pretty mundane dish, I thought I’d pair up some beautiful fresh basil with some spicy dried chilli flakes. I obviously made a good call; they were delish.

What you’ll need:

  • Potatoes of any kind, cut into bite-sized pieces and parboiled for about 6-8 minutes
  • The juice of one lemon
  • About a tablespoon (or less) of dried chilli flakes
  • A handful of fresh basil leaves, chopped
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, crushed
  • Olive oil, salt and pepper

What to do:

Remove the potatoes form the boiling water and drain well. Pour them into a baking dish and coat well with olive oil, the basil, garlic, chilli and salt and pepper.

Roast in the oven for about 15 minutes; remove from the oven, squeeze on all the lemon juice, stir well and cook for at least another 15 minutes or until the potatoes are crispy and golden and you’re good to go!

This entry was posted in Veg, Vegan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment